FAQ  •  Register  •  Login
UKLockpickers.co.uk Lockpicking supplies such as Lockpicks, tools, and more! COMMANDOLOCK.COM Military grade padlock systems lockpickshop.com A source for lockpicking supplies such as lockpicks, locksmith tools, and more!

Yale safe lock id and info for first timer

<<

micro500

Post Tue Jan 29, 2019 2:04 pm

Yale safe lock id and info for first timer

My company recently obtained an old safe that we don't know the combination to. We're very curious about what might be inside (we're thinking probably nothing) and we'd like to try to open it non-destructively. We have no information about the safe including how the locking mechanism works.

I have limited experience with lock picking but I'm willing to give this a shot. I also have the technical means to build an auto dialer if I end up unable to manipulate the lock. I'm hoping someone can give me more information about what I'm looking at to get me started.

The safe was made by the Manganese Steel Safe Co. The list of patents on the lower placard leads me to think this safe was made around 1905. The two dials look identical, but the top one has some damage on the front. The text on the dials was hard to photograph, but reads:
  Code:
YALE & TOWNE MFG CO
PAT'D
JULY 18 1882
MARCH 4 1884
  "  11 1884
AUG 26 1884
STAMFORD CONN

When I first played with the lock the top dial spun freely but the bottom lock only moved from 95ish to 5ish. The wheel spun ~5-10 times in either direction. One direction stopped with a hard stop, the other end was softer and felt more like it was jamming. I played with the handle at the bottom a bit, but it jammed up so I left it alone. The door didn't move at all.