FAQ  •  Register  •  Login
UKLockpickers.co.uk Lockpicking supplies such as Lockpicks, tools, and more! COMMANDOLOCK.COM Military grade padlock systems lockpickshop.com A source for lockpicking supplies such as lockpicks, locksmith tools, and more!

Newbie - What path ?

<<

Crispypiglet

Post Fri Jun 23, 2017 4:51 am

Newbie - What path ?

Hi Guys,

Crispypiglets the name and attempting to learn lockpicking is the game.

So Firstly a bit of back ground, i'm an engineer so fiddling with stuff is a past time and having a lock, pick and tension wrench in hand seems pretty natural. I purchased one of those clear locks and "crappy" lock pick kits from amazon for like £10.

First thing I noticed was that the lock was pretty terrible and didn't actually need to be picked as there was no shielding from shimming or simply putting a sharp pick into the back and pulling the locking/retaining latches in to pop the lock.

The lock picks are also sharp as hell and I decided to smooth and sand them down using an extremely fine sand paper and also used a scotchbrite type material to give a rumbled effect. I also purchased the Sparrows octo rake, warlock, sandman and reflection sets as they were on offer and I had a voucher.

Now im happy that the picks I have and the tension wrenches (both top and bottom of the keyway) I have are decent enough quality that I can practice my skills for a long time without needing to keep upgrading. My question is where do I start ? I don't want to just get the crappiest master lock and pick it within a day then be bored, so im looking for something with a slight challenge, maybe one or two security pins or something with standard pins but a challenging keyway?

I am in the UK so any assistance would be great :)

Thanks a bunch, Crispypiglet
<<

MrWizard

Contributor
Contributor

Post Fri Jun 23, 2017 5:52 am

Re: Newbie - What path ?

Hi

Welcome to the forum.

Master padlocks are always fun and a good place to start.