FAQ  •  Register  •  Login
UKLockpickers.co.uk Lockpicking supplies such as Lockpicks, tools, and more! COMMANDOLOCK.COM Military grade padlock systems lockpickshop.com A source for lockpicking supplies such as lockpicks, locksmith tools, and more!

Help a noob out

<<

THEsourman

Familiar Face

Post Sun Aug 09, 2009 5:17 pm

Help a noob out

im kind of new to lock picking
my first klom set its the navigator set
appearently its really good

if anyone has any tips or trick or anything like that
please feel free to post them
:D

or please reccomend any good sets or tools
<<

magician59

Contributor
Contributor

Post Sun Aug 09, 2009 6:11 pm

Re: Help a noob out

Being new to the art, a lot of folks tend to manhandle the things. Learn to use more finesse than force, and your picks will last a good long time. Some of my HPC picks have faithfully served me for four decades now.
Nemo Malus Felix
<<

morrowind107

Familiar Face

Post Sun Aug 09, 2009 6:13 pm

you don't need more tools than the kloms for now
find a cheap padlock you can practice on until you get better, don't be to heavy handed on the tension tool, you don't need much to put pressure on the tension wrench
and practice as often as you can, you will eventually get better and feel more in the lock
All hail the hypnotoad!
<<

THEsourman

Familiar Face

Post Sun Aug 09, 2009 6:23 pm

THANKS!
i will make good use of those tips
ive already got a south ord cutaway coming in the mail
but other than that what would be a good lock to start with?
<<

Gonewild

Familiar Face

Post Sun Aug 09, 2009 7:05 pm

I started with master #3. But quickly moved away from the crappiness of them. Brinks are good locks, but some are tricky. My favorite right now is a master 575.
Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach him to use the Net and he won't bother you for weeks.
<<

the lockpickkid

I've Been Banned!!
I've Been Banned!!

Post Sun Aug 09, 2009 7:13 pm