FAQ  •  Register  •  Login
UKLockpickers.co.uk Lockpicking supplies such as Lockpicks, tools, and more! COMMANDOLOCK.COM Military grade padlock systems lockpickshop.com A source for lockpicking supplies such as lockpicks, locksmith tools, and more!

Sidebar info.

<<

peterparker18

Post Wed Nov 21, 2012 2:00 am

Sidebar info.

I am fairly new to the lockpicking community and was wondering first of all how a sidebar works, secondly how to tell if a lock contains a sidebar, and finally how to go about picking a lock with a sidebar.
Thanks!
<<

Logan

Familiar Face

Post Wed Nov 21, 2012 2:16 am

Re: Sidebar info.

Thats going to depend on the lock, A lock like a Schlage Primus has finger pins (an extra row of pins) that have to be set to the right hights to allow the sidebar to retract. In a lock like a Medeco the pins rotate to allow the sidebar to retract. So not only do the pins have to be lifted to the right hight they have to be rotated to the proper position as well to open the lock.

Some good specifics http://www.lockwiki.com/index.php/Categ ... ebar_locks

As for picking, I have no idea I haven't got to sidebars yet. Tho' I should.
"My only definite plan is that in the future I'm definitely just using this screwdriver for screwing in screws" -The Doctor

┓┏ 凵 =╱⊿┌┬┐
<<

Solomon

Prolific Poster

Post Wed Nov 21, 2012 2:22 am