FAQ  •  Register  •  Login
UKLockpickers.co.uk Lockpicking supplies such as Lockpicks, tools, and more! COMMANDOLOCK.COM Military grade padlock systems lockpickshop.com A source for lockpicking supplies such as lockpicks, locksmith tools, and more!

Inner groove locks

<<

Presumedsublime

Familiar Face

Post Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:30 pm

Inner groove locks

What is the best pick to use for inner groove locks? I'm a hobbyist so I have no need for specialized lishi tools or rake picks. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
<<

GWiens2001

Lock-Goblin-Gordon
Lock-Goblin-Gordon

Post Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:52 pm

Re: Inner groove locks

If you are talking about laser track keys, I normally use a half diamond pick.

Gordon
Just when you think you've learned it all, that is when you find you haven't learned anything yet.
<<

huxleypig

The Prestigious and Powerful Porcine Prelate

Post Wed Sep 18, 2013 6:01 pm

By inner grove I'm presuming you mean the laser locks used an many cars now? The ones with the cuts in the middle of the key, not the edge?

Well I can recommend the VAG inner groove rake. The VAG locks (HU66) are especially prone to being raked and although you can get inner groove rake for other lock types the HU66 one is by far the most effective. Of course, it will only work on VAG (HU66) locks. Alternatively, you could make you own version from a shaved down key:

Again, it will only work for the lock profile of the shaved down key though.

If you want a more generic solution then you can pick them wafer by wafer using any pick. I find half diamond good but even better is a hook with a little bit filed out of the middle. Tension using a 'Y' wrench or other auto lock tension wrench and pick by pushing the teeth on the wafers down into the centre of the lock. You have to be sure you know which sides need pushing down because the configuration changes from lock to lock. It's either top left/bottom right or top right/bottom left. If that make sense!