FAQ  •  Register  •  Login
UKLockpickers.co.uk Lockpicking supplies such as Lockpicks, tools, and more! COMMANDOLOCK.COM Military grade padlock systems lockpickshop.com A source for lockpicking supplies such as lockpicks, locksmith tools, and more!

These springy pins...

<<

lmmjgt

Post Wed Nov 26, 2014 3:43 pm

These springy pins...

So I have a Master no.140 lock, and I recently learned how to deal with spools. The only thing is that sometimes I feel the first binding pin, and everything's fine and dandy, lock's easy to pick. But other times I feel that all pins are springy and none of them seem to be binding, I use a medium tension for this lock but I've tried with variations to see if it is indeed tension the problem, with no result; I also make sure that all pins are in their resting position beforehand. Funny enough, I leave the lock for a while and when I return I feel the pins binding. Am I overlooking some tension problem or is it the spool that's giving me a hard time?

Thanks.
<<

Papa Gleb

Contributor
Contributor

Post Wed Nov 26, 2014 4:15 pm

Re: These springy pins...

If its an old lock or been outside long enough there could be dirt and gunk in the chambers so although you reset all the pins, not all could be falling down. Dry some lube.
<<

mercurial

Familiar Face

Post Wed Nov 26, 2014 5:39 pm

Papa Gleb wrote:If its an old lock or been outside long enough there could be dirt and gunk in the chambers so although you reset all the pins, not all could be falling down. Dry some lube.

Lubricating the lock is a good idea if it could have debris inside, but debris isn't the problem here. If all pins are springy , then no drivers are stuck up in the bible. Even if a driver or two is stuck, whilst those pin stacks won't bind, the pin stacks keeping the plug from turning will still bind.