FAQ  •  Register  •  Login
UKLockpickers.co.uk Lockpicking supplies such as Lockpicks, tools, and more! COMMANDOLOCK.COM Military grade padlock systems lockpickshop.com A source for lockpicking supplies such as lockpicks, locksmith tools, and more!

SHTF Entry Kit

Forum rules
SURVIVE!
<<

freek007

Familiar Face

Post Wed Jul 01, 2015 10:33 am

SHTF Entry Kit

Hey folks, noob here. I have been playing around on and off with picking for a few years now. I have recently (last 3 months) picked up the only pick set I own, a "James Bond" credit card pick set, cheap and flimsy. I have gotten to the point of single pin picking up to 5 pin locks with no security pins, but it takes me a while on 5 pins.

ANYWAYS - I was toying with the question of "What would I need in a kit to be able to enter at least 90% of doors (and filing cabinets, vending machines, lock boxes, car trunks, padlocks, briefcases, anything you might need to get into) that I would encounter in an urban/suburban environment?"

Here are my "rules":

Assume you have no other tools, you are building either from scratch or building a standalone kit to go in a go bag or similar.

Assume that you will practice with this kit to become at least moderately proficient with each tool.

Size and Weight is a concern, as well as cost. While less is more, if there is a tool that significantly increases S&W or is relatively pricey, but allows for a potential large payoff (like if I knew all food vending machines in my area used 7 pin tubular locks, it might be worth it to carry a 7 pin tubular pick, even though they are large and expensive). Keep in mind though, that ultimately this full kit needs to fit in a relatively small compartment of a backpack/duffle that will share space with food, water, other tools and supplies.

Cost - try to keep under $150, not counting Tax + S&H if ordering online. Again, see above if there is something that has potential for large payoff, this can be waived.