FAQ  •  Register  •  Login
UKLockpickers.co.uk Lockpicking supplies such as Lockpicks, tools, and more! COMMANDOLOCK.COM Military grade padlock systems lockpickshop.com A source for lockpicking supplies such as lockpicks, locksmith tools, and more!

Anti-Drilling/Bumping

<<

LockManipulator

Post Mon Feb 20, 2012 6:41 pm

Anti-Drilling/Bumping

What are some specific examples that high security locks use to prevent drilling and bumping? And what are the weaknesses of these methods for the locks that incorporate them?
<<

barbarian

Post Mon Feb 20, 2012 7:14 pm

Re: Anti-Drilling/Bumping

I'm no expert, but locks often have a small hardened pin or ball bearing that is located in the area you would need to drill. You can see it on Medeco locks, they have three little rods that protect the shear and they have the little half moon hardened inserts too. Most or maybe all have a hardened ball pressed into the end of the sidebar. Locksmiths sometimes drop a small ball bearing into the mounting holes too.

Hardened steel or stainless steel pins or disks will make it harder to drill. Not that it will stop a serious attempt at drilling, but it will slow down the operation and make it more difficult.

Try to make it difficult enough that a thief will think it is too hard to drill and seek an alternative.
<<

LockManipulator

Post Mon Feb 20, 2012 7:19 pm

So if it's a mortise cylinder, then would placing ball bearing in front of where the screws are located be good? so anyone trying to drill out the screws would hit the bearing.
<<

Riyame

Keeper of the Bests / Supreme Overlord of Small Format Interchangeable Picking Nightmares

Post Mon Feb 20, 2012 7:28 pm

Yes, Medeco actually gives you the ball bearings and says to put them in the holes as part of the installation instructions.
PhoneMan: I always knew I'd say something stupid and it would be someone's sig
macgng: i am an equal opportunity pervert
macgng: aww fuck thats goin in someone sig :-(